Abdominal hernia operation expert Reinpold
Your MILOS Center in Hamburg

MILOS for abdominal wall hernia: surgical technique from Hamburg

Why is the MILOS surgery from Hamburg considered the gold standard for abdominal hernias worldwide? How does the procedure combine the advantages of common minimally invasive and open surgical procedures? What are the advantages of MILOS for patients?

With these questions you are right in the Hamburg Hernia Center, because: The gentle MILOS surgery for abdominal wall hernias such as Umbilical hernias and Incisional hernias as well as diastases recti was developed by our head physician Dr. Reinpold and his team in Hamburg-Wilhelmsburg – and subsequently established internationally within a few years.

Consequently, all specialists in our hernia center have special expertise and experience with the MILOS technique for abdominal wall hernia surgery. In total, our team of physicians has performed more than 6,000 hernia surgeries using the sophisticated MILOS technique – with excellent results and extremely low complication and recurrence rates.

As a preliminary point: Note on the terms used:

MILOS stands for MInior Less Open Sublay Operation. A variant of MILOS surgery is the EMILOS procedure (endoscopic MInior Less Open Sublay Surgery). In this case, endoscopy is performed after the space between the peritoneum and the abdominal wall is filled with CO2 gas. In MILOS surgery, endoscopy is performed without gas.

Both variants of abdominal hernia surgery are equally gentle for patients and are frequently used at the Hamburg Hernia Center. For the sake of readability, we will focus on the term MILOS in the following, but principally include EMILOS.

MILOS: The principle of gentle abdominal wall hernia surgery

To better understand the principle of MILOS surgery and the advantages of abdominal wall hernia surgery “made in Hamburg”, you should know:

An abdominal wall hernia – such as an umbilical or incisional hernia – can only be cured by surgery. To prevent a repeated hernia, hernias are usually closed with a resilient synthetic mesh. Suture closure is advisable only in rare exceptional cases, such as when the abdominal wall hernia is very small and the defect measures less than 1.5 cm.

MILOS combines the advantages of minimally invasive and open surgical procedures

Before the development of MILOS surgery, patients and surgeons had the choice between open and minimally invasive surgical methods – and had to weigh the respective advantages and disadvantages individually.

Thus, the indispensable synthetic mesh was inserted either with a large incision outside the abdominal cavity (open sublay operation) or minimally invasively into the abdominal cavity (laparoscopic IPOM procedure).

In contrast, the MILOS operation, as the first abdominal wall hernia operation worldwide, makes it possible to insert the synthetic mesh minimally invasively and outside the abdominal cavity – in the most favorable layer between the peritoneum and the supporting abdominal wall. In this way, MILOS combines the advantages of the common processes, avoiding respective disadvantages.

NDR Visite mit Dr. Wolfgang Reinpold | MILOS OP-Verfahren | Nabelbruch, Narbenbruch, Bauchwandhernie

GDPR: This video will only load after a click
Dr. Reinpold as a guest on NDR Visite on the subject of MILOS
(only available in German)

MILOS surgery for abdominal wall hernia: Advantages

  • small, gentle skin incisions
  • mesh implantation outside the delicate abdominal cavity
  • no need to fasten the mesh with staples or sutures; accordingly, no risk of painful nerve damage
  • hernia gaps (holes in the abdominal wall) are closed over the accurately positioned mesh in an anatomically correct manner
  • very good restoration of the abdominal wall function
  • very good cosmetic result
  • highly significant reduction in acute and chronic pain compared to all established surgical procedures
  • significantly fewer complications such as organ injuries, bleeding, inflammation or repeated hernias

MILOS surgery: Advantages scientifically confirmed

Not only the doctors and patients of the Hamburg Hernia Center could convince themselves of the excellent results after MILOS surgery. Already in 2018, the first broad-based Herniamed registry study with over 600 scar hernias confirmed our very good experience with the MILOS procedure for abdominal wall hernia surgery.

The study, published in the internationally renowned surgical journal Annals of Surgery showed significantly fewer complications, chronic pain and recurring hernias compared to conventional surgical procedures. (Read the full study here).

In the meantime, we can look back on a wealth of experience of more than 6,000 abdominal wall hernia operations according to the MILOS procedure in our hernia center in Hamburg. These clearly underline the very good results already demonstrated in 2018.

As part of the Herniamed quality assurance study, we contact our patients again after one, five and ten years in each case to obtain information about the long-term outcome of abdominal wall hernia surgery. With respect to MILOS surgery, current so-called 5-year “follow-ups” also show extremely low pain and recurrence fracture rates of less than 2 percent each.

Abdominal hernia operation expert Reinpold Berger
Dr. Reinpold and Dr. Berger developed the MILOS surgical procedure and established it internationally.

MILOS: For whom is the gentle abdominal wall hernia surgery suitable?

After numerous TV and press reports (among others by the NDR) many patients with abdominal wall hernia or rectus diastasis ask us specifically about the MILOS operation. We can fulfill this wish in most cases, as the procedure is suitable for very many types and degrees of hernias. However, as with any surgical procedure, there are exceptions with regard to MILOS surgery: For example, very large abdominal wall hernias and incisional hernias larger than 15cm often cannot be operated on using the minimally invasive MILOS technique. In these cases, larger skin incisions are usually required. Nevertheless, we also apply the principles of MILOS surgery to these giant hernias at the Hamburg Hernia Center. Thus, even in cases of very large hernias, we make the smallest possible skin incision and insert the synthetic mesh outside the abdominal cavity.

For more details on the treatment of very large abdominal wall hernias and the special services offered at the Hamburg Hernia Center, please read our information on the Incisional hernia and IFT.

In contrast, very small abdominal wall hernias with a defect size of less than 1.5 cm often do not require a synthetic mesh. Here, a suture closure is the method of choice.

As a general rule: a detailed examination and precise diagnosis of your hernia is always required to plan the best abdominal wall hernia surgery for you. Moreover, in our consultations we always ask you about any concomitant diseases that may preclude general anesthesia and thus minimally invasive abdominal wall hernia surgery such as MILOS.

Bauchwandbruch Operation Experte Reinpold
Ihr MILOS Centrum in Hamburg

MILOS bei Bauchdeckenbruch: OP-Technik aus Hamburg

Warum gilt die MILOS-OP aus Hamburg weltweit als Goldstandard bei Bauchdeckenbruch? Wie kombiniert das Verfahren die Vorteile gängiger minimal-invasiver und offener OP-Verfahren? Welche Vorteile hat MILOS für Patientinnen und Patienten?

Mit diesen Fragen sind Sie im Hamburger Hernien Centrum richtig, denn: Die schonende MILOS-Operation für Bauchdeckenbruch wie u. a. Nabelbruch und Narbenbruch sowie Rektusdiastase wurde von unserem Chefarzt Dr. Reinpold und Team in Hamburg-Wilhelmsburg entwickelt – und daraufhin innerhalb weniger Jahre international etabliert.

Folglich weisen alle Spezialisten in unserem Hernienzentrum besondere Expertise und Erfahrung mit der Bauchdeckenbruch OP nach MILOS auf. Insgesamt hat unser Ärzteteam mehr als 6.000 Hernien-Operationen in der anspruchsvollen MILOS-Technik durchgeführt – mit hervorragenden Ergebnissen und extrem niedrigen Komplikations- und Wiederholungsbruchraten.

Vorab: Hinweis zu den verwendeten Begriffen:

MILOS steht für MIni or Less Open Sublay Operation. Eine Variante der MILOS-OP ist das EMILOS-Verfahren (endoskopische MIni or Less Open Sublay Operation). In diesem Fall erfolgt die Endoskopie, nachdem der Raum zwischen Bauchfell und Bauchwand mit CO2 Gas aufgefüllt wird. Bei der MILOS Operation erfolgt die Endoskopie gaslos.

Beide Varianten der Bauchdeckenbruch OP sind für Patienten gleichermaßen schonend und kommen häufig im Hamburger Hernien Centrum zur Anwendung. Zugunsten der besseren Lesbarkeit konzentrieren wir uns im Folgenden auf den Begriff MILOS-OP, schließen aber EMILOS grundsätzlich mit ein.

MILOS: Das Prinzip der schonenden Bauchdeckenbruch OP

Um das Prinzip der MILOS-OP und die Vorteile der Bauchdeckenbruch OP „made in Hamburg“ besser einzuordnen, sollte man wissen:

Ein Bauchdeckenbruch – wie beispielsweise eine Nabel- oder Narbenhernie – kann nur durch eine OP geheilt werden. Um einen Wiederholungsbruch zu vermeiden, werden Hernien in aller Regel mit einem belastbaren Kunststoffnetz verschlossen. Ein Nahtverschluss ist nur in seltenen Ausnahmefällen ratsam, etwa wenn der Bauchdeckenbruch sehr klein ist und der Defekt weniger als 1,5 cm misst.

MILOS kombiniert die Vorteile minimal-invasiver und offener OP-Verfahren

Vor der Entwicklung der MILOS-Operation hatten Patienten und Chirurgen die Wahl zwischen offenen und minimal-invasiven OP-Methoden – und mussten die jeweiligen Vor- und Nachteile individuell abwägen.

So wurde das unverzichtbare Kunststoffnetz entweder mit einem großen Schnitt außerhalb der Bauchhöhle (offene Sublay-Operation) oder minimal-invasiv in die Bauchhöhle eingebracht (laparoskopisches IPOM Verfahren).

Hingegen ermöglicht die MILOS-OP es als erste Bauchdeckenbruch OP weltweit, das Kunststoffnetz minimal-invasiv und außerhalb der Bauchhöhle – in der günstigsten Schicht zwischen Bauchfell und tragender Bauchwand – einzusetzen. Auf diese Weise kombiniert MILOS die Vorteile der gängigen Verfahren, jeweilige Nachteile werden vermieden.

NDR Visite mit Dr. Wolfgang Reinpold | MILOS OP-Verfahren | Nabelbruch, Narbenbruch, Bauchwandhernie

DSVGO: Dieses Video wird erst nach einem Klick geladen
Dr. Reinpold zu Gast bei NDR Visite zum Thema MILOS
(damals noch Chefarzt im Krankenhaus Groß-Sand)

MILOS-OP bei Bauchdeckenbruch: Vorteile auf einen Blick

  • kleine, schonende Hautschnitte
  • Netzimplantation außerhalb der empfindlichen Bauchhöhle
  • Keine Befestigung des Netzes mit Krampen, Tackern oder Nähten erforderlich; entsprechend keine Gefahr einer schmerzhaften Nervenschädigung
  • Bruchlücken (Löcher in der Bauchwand) werden über dem korrekt liegenden Netz anatomiegerecht verschlossen
  • sehr gute Wiederherstellung der Bauchwandfunktion
  • sehr gutes kosmetisches Ergebnis
  • hochsignifikant weniger akute und chronische Schmerzen im Vergleich zu allen etablierten Operationsverfahren
  • signifikant weniger Komplikationen wie Organverletzungen, Blutungen, Entzündungen oder Wiederholungsbrüche

MILOS-OP: Vorteile wissenschaftlich bestätigt

Von den hervorragenden Ergebnissen nach MILOS-OP konnten sich nicht nur die Ärzte und Patienten des Hamburger Hernien Centrums überzeugen. Schon 2018 bestätigte die erste breit angelegte Herniamed Registerstudie mit jeweils über 600 Narbenbrüchen unsere sehr guten Erfahrungen mit der Bauchdeckenbruch-OP nach MILOS.

So zeigte die im international renommierten Chirurgiejournal Annals of Surgery publizierte Studie signifikant weniger Komplikationen, chronische Schmerzen und Wiederholungsbrüche im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Operationsverfahren. (Hier lesen Sie die vollständige Studie.)

Mittlerweile blicken wir in unserem Hernienzentrum in Hamburg auf einen Erfahrungsschatz von mehr als 6.000 Bauchdeckenbruch OPs nach dem MILOS-Verfahren. Diese unterstreichen die bereits 2018 nachgewiesenen sehr guten Ergebnisse deutlich.

Im Rahmen der Herniamed-Qualitätssicherungsstudie treten wir jeweils nach einem, fünf und zehn Jahren nochmals mit unseren Patienten in Kontakt, um Informationen über das langfristige Ergebnis der Bauchdeckenbruch OP zu erhalten. In Bezug auf die MILOS OP zeigen aktuell auch die sogenannten 5-Jahres „Follow-ups“ extrem niedrige Schmerz- und Wiederholungsbruchraten von jeweils unter 2 Prozent.

Bauchwandbruch Operation Experte Reinpold Berger
Dr. Reinpold und Dr. Berger haben das MILOS OP Verfahren entwickelt und international etabliert

MILOS-OP: Für wen ist die schonende Bauchdeckenbruch OP geeignet?

Nach zahlreichen TV- und Presseberichten (u. a. im NDR) fragen uns mittlerweile viele Patienten mit Bauchdeckenbruch oder Rektusdiastase speziell nach der MILOS-OP. Diesem Wunsch können wir in den meisten Fällen nachkommen, da sich das Verfahren für sehr viele Hernien-Arten und Ausprägungen eignet. Doch wie bei jedem chirurgischen Verfahren gibt es auch im Hinblick auf die MILOS-OP Ausnahmen: So können sehr große Bauchdeckenbrüche und Narbenhernien von mehr als 15cm Größe häufig nicht in der minimal-invasiven MILOS-Technik operiert werden. In diesen Fällen sind in der Regel größere Hautschnitte erforderlich. Dennoch: Auch bei diesen Riesenhernien wenden wir im Hamburger Hernien Centrum die Prinzipien der MILOS-OP an. So führen wir auch bei sehr großen Brüchen einen möglichst kleinen Hautschnitt durch und bringen das Kunststoffnetz außerhalb der Bauchhöhle ein.

Für mehr Details zur Versorgung sehr großer Bauchdeckenbrüche und der besonderen Angebote im Hamburger Hernien Centrum lesen Sie gern unsere Informationen zum Narbenbruch und IFT.

Bei sehr kleinen Bauchdeckenbrüchen unter 1,5 cm Defektgröße ist hingegen häufig kein Kunststoffnetz erforderlich. Hier ist ein Nahtverschluss das Verfahren der Wahl.

Generell gilt: Um die für Sie optimale Bauchdeckenbruch-OP zu planen, sind immer eine ausführliche Untersuchung und die präzise Diagnostik Ihrer Hernie erforderlich. Auch stellen wir Ihnen in unseren Sprechstunden immer die Frage nach eventuellen Begleiterkrankungen, die unter Umständen eine Vollnarkose und damit eine minimal-invasive Bauchdeckenbruch-OP wie MILOS ausschließen.